Unitec BDVA Graphic Design & Animation Projects 2015

Online project portfolios for final year Graphic Design students from Unitec's BDVA Programme.

Zanalee Makavani

The_Anatomy_Lesson

The Anatomy Lesson of Dr. Nicolaes Tulp

Geez, not another streetwear brand.
I’m different, I swear. *said EVERYONE ever*

For the SP6 Project Proposal I am creating a streetwear clothing brand named Cadaver. Cadaver is a medical term for a dead body that is dissected for medical research. The reasoning behind the name is the association with death and anatomy but it also represents something new being created from something old.

Cadaver is heavily influenced by youth subcultures of the past and now. Focused on the attitude and authenticity these subcultures emanate, Cadaver aims to recreate that feeling into clothing. The brand will also look into nostalgia through the use of dark humor and pop culture references.

Cadaver is targeted towards 17-26 males and females who are involved with streetwear culture, who like to be a bit different, a little bit dark and love ironic/clichéd things. They are most likely people on the forefront of street fashion and are always looking for something new.

Growing up and being involved with streetwear and sneakers, everyone either dreamt of owning a sneaker store or there own clothing brand. It was no different for myself. I often dreamt of having my favorite rappers wear my clothes or seeing my label being featured on large streetwear blogs. Even though the market is oversaturated with many start-ups I feel as though there is still a gap in the market for my brand to fill. I also now have an opportunity to turn it into reality so why would I not take it?

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on September 2, 2015 by in Illustrated Content.