Unitec BDVA Graphic Design & Animation Projects 2015

Online project portfolios for final year Graphic Design students from Unitec's BDVA Programme.

Angus Burrows

tumblr_ly90qb5zdT1qgl41ao1_500

For my final semester project I will be designing a typeface, to learn more about type and find out what makes a typeface unique. My motivation for this project comes from my interest in nostalgia and traditional graphic design practice, and how all the elements i’ve been exposed to have influenced me as a practitioner today. Growing up i was inspired by graphic novels, comic books and video games, all of which showed me the different ways visual communication can be had, no matter how simple or complicated it may be. For myself as a graphic design practitioner i wish to execute a project that is deceptively simple, yet full of complexities. I intend to approach this brief by analysing existing typefaces created by old masters of type, to establish which nuances and differences synthesise with certain elements from my nostalgia. With the knowledge of how typefaces are put together, i intend to explore different techniques of making letter forms by combining methods traditionally used in printmaking and graphic novels, as well as digital means – in order to invoke the same feeling of nostalgia that i had. As a result of this i wish to have a functional serif typeface that acknowledges typographic rules and history, yet is expressive and personal to myself.

image:
Pistilli Roman typeface, designed by Herb Lubalin and John Pistilli.

About Ned

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on August 31, 2015 by in Illustrated Content.