Unitec BDVA Graphic Design & Animation Projects 2015

Online project portfolios for final year Graphic Design students from Unitec's BDVA Programme.

Anthony Kwan

pic4

For my SP6 project I will design a publication about sneakers, seakerhead and sneaker culture. I have been collecting sneakers for about two or three years now and I am still new to the sneaker culture. This is the perfect chance for me to explore and understand more about the sneaker culture and sneakerheads. As this is a publication about what influences me, I aimed to give the publication a slightly more personal feel.

Sneakers have come a long way. In their hundred-plus year history, they’ve gone from primitive pieces of athletic equipment to status symbols, from on-court wear to everywhere. Sneaker collecting known as ‘sneakerhead’ begin in the United States of America 1980s, and it all started when basketball athlete Michael Jordan released Air Jordan in 1985 and the growth of hip hop music.

Photography is one of my element of my publication because there will be photos of sneakers, sneaker collectors, so it is extremely important that the photos looks professional.

To know more about sneaker culture I will have to interview some sneakerheads or sneaker collector, but also going to their house, garage or shop to understand what it is like to be a sneakerhead. Also showing whom the person is and giving the audience a sort of sense of what is a sneaker culture.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on August 25, 2015 by in Editorial Content.