Unitec BDVA Graphic Design & Animation Projects 2015

Online project portfolios for final year Graphic Design students from Unitec's BDVA Programme.

Jay Matson

cover-27

My SP6 project will be centred around the full construction of a card game. This will include the rules of the game, and enough fully printed cards for the game to played.

The card game has a few main focuses that I am going to try to keep central to the project. These are: “Easy to Learn”, as I want the game to be less intimidating to anyone that is new to card games and leads well into my next key focus; “Strategy”. Strategy is important to the construction and design of this game as it will inform the style of play (in this case, i want the rules to be simple, but I want the game to be something that needs to be thought about carefully if you wish to win/be good at it). Lastly, I want the design of the characters for each card to have priority over everything else on the card.

These key traits lead into the overall aesthetic for the cards that I wish to employ. At this point, the card game will be themed to feature a range of imaginative characters, but all based on superhero/animals (animals that have superpowers). I have decided on this theme for making characters as it gives me a huge base with limitless options in terms of what I can produce, plus puts a bit of a spin on the currently popular superhero genre.

Based on this theme, the current aesthetic style will be loosely based on comic-book cover art, particularly those from 1980’s and older, to both go with the superhero theme, and also reference back to that time when stories did not need to have scientific accuracy, or require as much realism as they do now, which comes back to my use of animals as opposed to humans possesing the superpowers.

Each card will be different to others, with different movement styles or abilities (similar to a chess piece), and the aesthetic will need to be flexible enough to maintain a graphic style whilst having obvious visual differences between cards.

 

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on August 24, 2015 by in Illustrated Content.